Is the Buffalo Wild Wings Black Bean Burger Vegan?

Coworker lunches are one of those things that can be difficult as a vegan. Everybody's trying to be considerate of you, and you don't want to be too much trouble, but what they really want is wings.

That's why I was excited to see a black bean burger on the Buffalo Wild Wings menu, and I'll admit that I had more than one before it occurred to me to find out if it's vegan.

As it turns out, it's not. Oops. 

Buffalo Wild Wings includes both dairy and eggs in their black bean burgers, and they also use corn, soy, and wheat in case you're interested. 

I combed through the allergy information, and there are very few options that are vegetarian, let alone vegan. I used to think the fries and tortilla chips were okay, but several commenters pointed out that Buffalo Wild Wings uses beef tallow in their fryers (and fries their tortilla chips on site), so never mind. If you are stuck and starving, you can turn to the following:

  • Soft pretzels with spicy brown mustard or wing sauce (many of the wing sauces are vegan, a few aren't)
  • Side salad with no cheese (croutons are unclear; the allergy information lists the side salad with croutons as containing dairy, but it also has cheese on it. Best to remove the croutons to be safe, or ask them to check. If you find out, please let me know!)

So, it's not a long list. I guess you could also get a salad with no meat, but paying full price for 20% of the value just pisses me off. In summary, just choose somewhere else if you can. If not, enjoy a beer and some pretzels, and get something healthy for your next meal. 

Keep up with everything vegan in Knoxville—subscribe!